2nd Annual Report

(January 1, 2012 to December 31, 2012)

For 2012, the Foundation started the implementation of its Program of Action by launching the ten “Chief Justice Panganiban Professorial Chairs on Liberty and Prosperity”, with holders appointed among the top nine law schools in the country, plus a holder in the Philippine Judicial Academy. Thereafter, it followed-through individual lectures and activities by its chair holders and built a good partnership with their law schools. The Foundation also earned significant support from the Metrobank Foundation, among other donors.

Launch of Professorial Chairs

The formal launch of the ten “Chief Justice Panganiban Professorial Chairs on Liberty and Prosperity” was held on September 18, 2012 at the Metrobank Auditorium, Metrobank Plaza, Gil Puyat Avenue, Makati, with Chief Justice Maria Lourdes P. A. Sereno as guest of honor and speaker. During her speech, the lady Chief Justice commended the Foundation and the Professorial Chairs program for “bringing this debate front and center”.

The first recipients were retired Supreme Court Justice Adolfo S. Azcuna (Chancellor, Philippine Judicial Academy), Atty. Andres D. Bautista (Dean, Far Eastern University Institute of Law), Atty. Sedfrey M. Candelaria (Dean, Ateneo de Manila School of Law), Atty. Danilo L. Concepcion (Dean, University of the Philippines College of Law), Atty. Jose Manuel I. Diokno (Dean, De La Salle University College of Law), Atty. Nilo T. Divina (Dean, University of Santo Tomas Faculty of Civil Law), and retired Supreme Court Justice Eduardo B. Nachura (Chairman, Arellano University Law Foundation).

A Certificate of Entitlement together with a Plaque of Recognition was handed to each recipient by Chief Justice Maria Lourdes P. A. Sereno, Chief Justice Artemio V. Panganiban, Dr. George S. K, Ty (Chairman of the Board of Trustees of the Metrobank Foundation which co-sponsored the project) and Mr. Jose Maria Lim (President, Metro Pacific Investments Corporation, a co-sponsor). Each chair holder is also entitled to receive two hundred thousand pesos (P200,000.00) per year, at one hundred thousand pesos (P100,000.00)  per semester. This honorarium merits the individual responsibility of conducting original research and publicly delivering intellectual output (in line with the promotion, appreciation, application and protection of liberty and prosperity) once every semester to all the members of the faculty and entire student body of their respective law schools. Traditional lectures, debates, case studies, or other alternative modern and creative methods of communications can be considered as outputs. These will be published in a book and/or in other modes of communications.

The launch ceremonies began with an invocation by Atty. Joel Emerson G. Gregorio, FLP Trustee and Corporate Secretary while Professor Maria Theresa P. Manalac, another FLP Trustee, delivered the Opening Remarks. FLP Executive Vice President and Asian Development Bank Consultant Evelyn T. Dumdum and FLP Trustee and Professional Regulations Commissioner Jennifer J. Manalili were the Masters of Ceremonies.

Reprising their rendition of “The Newsboy” from “Ageless Passion” (a bio-musicale marking the 75th birthday of Chief Justice Panganiban), the Kilyawan Boys Choir took center stage once again during the event. They also inspired the audience by singing “May Bukas Pa”.


Official Website

The official website of the FLP (www.libpros.com) and the FLP e-newsletter was launched during the Awarding of the “Chief Justice Panganiban Professorial Chairs on Liberty and Prosperity”,  held at the Metrobank Auditorium, Metrobank Plaza on September 18, 2012. Three FLP Trustees, namely, retired Chief Justice Hilario G. Davide Jr., Business Icon Washington Z. Sycip and Former Secretary of Education Edilberto C. de Jesus, formally launched this FLP Website to the delight of the audience.

The FLP Website was created and designed pro bono by Mr. Kristian Jeff C. Agustin and is now fully operational and accessible via http://www.LibPros.com. The annual domain hosting and maintenance fees (via WordPress.com) are shouldered by Chief Justice Panganiban.


First Public Lecture

On September 19, 2012, Professorial Chair recipient Dean Sedfrey M. Candelaria delivered his first lecture, “Finance & Law: Understanding the Institutional and Functional Role of the International Monetary Fund (IMF) During Sovereign Debt Crisis Situations” – the first in a series of Liberty & Prosperity professorial lectures yet to be fulfilled  – at Justitia, 4th Floor, Ateneo Law School.

Distinguished guests include former Chief Justice Hilario G. Davide, Jr., Chief Justice and Mrs. Panganiban, Metrobank Foundation President Mr. Aniceto M. Sobrepeña, Dean Nilo Divina (University of Santo Tomas Faculty of Civil Law), and Dean Andres Bautista (Far Eastern University Law).

A written output of Dean Candelaria’s lecture was submitted to the FLP, as well as a copy of his PowerPoint presentation. The complete transcript and video of the whole proceeding (including the open forum with the students) are publicly accessible via the FLP website.


Second Public Lecture

On November 5, 2012, Dean Jose Manuel Diokno of the De La Salle University College of Law delivered his first lecture at the Natividad Fajardo Hall, Bro. Andrew Gonzalez Building, DLSU, Taft Avenue, Manila. Dean Diokno Discussed the Filipino concept of justice or “katarungan”. The lecture program included Welcome Remarks by La Salle Vice Law Dean Jocelyn Cruz, a Message from Metrobank Foundation President Aniceto Sobrepeña and Closing Remarks from FLP Chairman and Retired Chief Justice Artemio V. Panganiban.

Dean Diokno’s written lecture was submitted to the FLP, together with his PowerPoint presentation. These are accessible via the FLP website.


Financial Position

As earlier published and reported (First Annual Report, 2012) the Foundation was initially funded at two million pesos (P2,000,000.00), which was contributed by retired Chief Justice Artemio V. Panganiban. Eventually, it grew to a total of P7,675,021.78 (cash on hand and in bank) in 2012 after several members’ and friends’ unsolicited contributions. The biggest contribution of five million pesos (P5,000,000.00) was given by Metro Pacific Investments Corporation. In addition, our Chairman was able to secure a commitment of one million pesos (P1,000.000.00) from the Metrobank Foundation, by way of co-funding the Chief Justice Panganiban Professorial Chairs Program.

The Foundation has not incurred any salaries and personnel expenses to date. It depends solely on donated volunteer personnel services. The Board of Trustees, for instance, are meeting quarterly pro bono. The salary of the Executive Secretary is paid by The Baron Travel Corporation. Regular meetings, including meals and snacks, are hosted by Chief Justice & Mrs. Artemio V. Panganiban at 1203 Acacia, Dasmarinas Village, Makati.