FLP Announces 2017 Dissertation Contest Winners

The Foundation for Liberty and Prosperity (FLP) is pleased to announce that Raphael Lorenzo A. Pangalangan, a graduate student of the Oxford University and the University of the Philippines (UP), won the first prize in the FLP Dissertation Contest.Raphael Lorenzo Pangalangan

The son of International Criminal Court Judge Raul C. Pangalangan and UP Law Professor Elizabeth A. Pangalangan, he won P300,000 cash and a plaque of recognition for his entry: “Enforcing Liberty and Prosperity through the Courts of Law: A Shift in Legal Thought from Juridification to Judicialization”.

Copping the second place is Tess Marie P. Tan, senior law student of the University of San Carlos in Cebu City. She will receive P200,000 cash plus a plaque of recognition for her entry: “Liberty and Prosperity in the Digital Age: Determining the Proper Treatment of Online Intermediaries in Light of the United Nations Guiding Principles on Business and Human Rights”. The papers of the two winners are downloadable from this website.

The two bested four other finalists: Rexlyn Anne M. Evora (Polytechnic University of the Philippines), Helen May M. Frias (Far Eastern University), Janine Faye A. Napoles (Centro Escolar University), and Joben Mariz T. Odulio (Ateneo de Manila University), who will each receive P20,000 and a certificate of recognition.

The awarding ceremonies will be held on March 23, 2018 at the Justitia Hall of the Ateneo Law School in Makati City.

The Dissertation Contest is sponsored by FLP with a financial grant from the Ayala Corporation, and co-sponsored by the Philippine Association of Law Schools (PALS).

The winners were selected by the FLP Board of Judges composed of: Supreme Court Senior Justice Presbitero J. Velasco, Jr., chairman, former Education Secretary Edilberto C. de Jesus, Ayala Corporation General Counsel Solomon M. Hermosura, PALS President and Ateneo Law School Dean Sedfrey M. Candelaria, and Law Professor Tanya Lat, members.

The FLP Dissertation Contest aims to augment existing literature on the Foundation’s core philosophy of liberty and prosperity under the rule of law. The contest is open to third year and fourth year law students and those taking Master of Laws.

The FLP was founded in 2011 to perpetuate the core judicial philosophy of retired Chief Justice Artemio V. Panganiban — that jurists and lawyers should safeguard liberty and nurture prosperity under the rule of law.

Its Board of Trustees is composed of CJ Panganiban (chairman), Sec. de Jesus, retired Supreme Court Justice Angelina Sandoval-Gutierrez, Evelyn T. Dumdum, Asian Development Bank Consultant, Joel Emerson J. Gregorio, Jennifer J. Manalili, Prof. Elenita C. Panganiban and Maria Elena P.S. Yaptangco.

Ayala is the country’s long standing partner in the pursuit for progress and nation building, developing businesses that transform industries, challenging the status quo, and bringing innovations in the Philippines and abroad that contribute to the nation’s social and economic agenda. For details, please visit www.ayala.com.ph.

In cooperation with