20 Law Students Receive Scholarship Awards



The Foundation for Liberty and Prosperity (FLP) and Tan Yan Kee Foundation (TYKF) are pleased to announce the 20 legal scholarship awardees for the School Year 2018-2019. Each scholar will receive P200,000 divided into P100,000 for tuition, P20,000 for books, and P80,000 for monthly stipends.

Of the 20, 10 are for 3rd year and the other 10 are for 4th year law students as follows: (for third year) Banoar R. Abratique (University of the Cordilleras), Pamela Camille A. Barredo (Far Eastern University-Makati), Angelette C. Bulacan (FEU-Makati), Stephanie Mae B. Domingo (University of the Cordilleras), Maria Carissa C. Guinto (San Beda University-Manila), Patrick Angelo M. Gutierrez (FEU-Makati), Mayumi G. Matsumura (Ateneo de Manila), Juralyn Lilian A. Obra (University of the Cordilleras), Carmella Gaye D. Perez (University of San Carlos), and Edrea Jean V. Ramirez (University of Santo Tomas).

For fourth year: Leo Francis F. Abot (Ateneo de Manila), John Anthony F. Almerino (University of San Carlos), Micah Celine S. Carpio (De La Salle University), Arvin Paolo D. Cortez (Ateneo de Manila), Mikael Gabrielle E. Ilao (University of the Cordilleras), Alimar Mohammad Malabad (San Beda University-Manila), Kenneth Glenn L. Manuel (UST), King Anthony Y. Perez (University of Cebu), Jun Dexter H. Rojas (PUP), and Ma. Vida Malaya M. Villarico (PUP).

The FLP scholars were selected based on their academic merit and their ability to uphold and espouse the FLP’s philosophy of liberty and prosperity under the rule of law. Extra cash prizes are given those who graduate with Latin honors.

Fifteen FLP scholars took the last bar examinations: Karina Mae Badua (UST), Sean James Borja (Ateneo de Manila), Erwin Frederick Dy (UP), Rexlyn Anne Evora (PUP), Kevin Ken Ganchero (FEU), Katrina Monica Gaw (Ateneo de Manila), Jose Noel Hilario (UST), Summerson Macasarte (St. Thomas More), Violeta Najarro (San Beda-Alabang), Ma. Janine Pedernal (UST), Nigel Carmelo Reago (De La Salle U), Tess Marie Tan (U of San Carlos), Jose Angelo Tiglao (De La Salle U), Althea Vergara (U of San Carlos) and Vanessa Gloria Vergara (Ateneo de Manila).

The bar topnotchers among them will get P200,000 for the first place and P100,000 each for the second to the tenth placers.

With a financial grant from the TYKF, the FLP sponsors the program with the assistance of the Philippine Association of Law Schools (PALS).

Supreme Court Senior Justice Antonio T. Carpio headed the Board of Judges which selected the scholars, with the following members: former Education Secretary Edilberto C. de Jesus, TYKF Executive Elizabeth Alba, PALS President and University of San Carlos Law Dean Joan Sarausos-Largo, and Ateneo Law Professor Tanya Karina A. Lat.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The FLP Legal Scholarship Program is open to all third and fourth year students of law schools that obtained a percentage of passing above the overall average percentage of passing in bar exams based on the statistical data from the Office of the Bar Confidant of the Supreme Court.

To qualify, the grantees must (1) be incumbent 3rd or 4th year students in one of the eligible law schools, (2) be among the top 20 of the batch in their respective schools, (3) have a cumulative average not lower than 85% or 2.25 for the immediately preceding school year, (4) have no dropped subject and no grade lower than 75% or 3.0, and (5) have enrolled and completed the full load for each school year; and submit an essay on the philosophy of liberty and prosperity under the rule of law and how he/she will apply the philosophy in his/her legal career.

The FLP was founded in 2011 to perpetuate the core judicial philosophy of retired Chief Justice Artemio V. Panganiban — that jurists and lawyers should safeguard liberty and nurture prosperity under the rule of law. For more information, please visit www.libpros.com.

Its Board of Trustees is composed of retired CJ Panganiban (chairman), Sec. de Jesus, retired Supreme Court Justice Angelina Sandoval-Gutierrez, Ms. Evelyn T. Dumdum, Asian Development Bank Consultant Joel Emerson J. Gregorio, Prof. Elenita C. Panganiban, Atty. Tanya Karina A. Lat, Rebecca G. Felix, and Ms. Maria Elena P.S. Yaptangco (members).

The Tan Yan Kee Foundation is the corporate social responsibility arm of the Lucio Tan Group of Companies. It approaches corporate social responsibility from a holistic commitment framework targeting education; culture and sports; health and social welfare including environmental concerns; research; and manpower development.

Its Board of Trustees is composed of Dr. Lucio C. Tan (chairman), Harry C. Tan (vice chairman), Joaquin Bernas, Frank Chan, Shirley Chua, Lawrence Chew, Emil Q. Javier, Artemio V. Panganiban, Marixi R. Prieto, Carmen Tan, Tan Eng Chan, Tan Hui Bin, Mariano Tanenglian, Amando M. Tetangco Jr. and Cesar E. A. Virata (members). For details, please visit www.tanyankee.org.


Program co-sponsor:

In cooperation with