CJ Peralta, SJ Bernabe Head FLP Boards of Judges

Chief Justice Diosdado M. Peralta heads the Board of Judges of the Legal Scholarship Program of the Foundation for Liberty and Prosperity (FLP), while Senior Justice Estela M. Perlas-Bernabe chairs the Board of Judges of the FLP Dissertation Writing Contest. The FLP Legal Scholarship Program selects 20 outstanding third and fourth year law students from around the Philippines. In partnership with Tan Yan Kee Foundation (TYK), FLP awards each scholar P200,000 per school year. The first batch of FLP scholars all passed last year’s bar exam with two of them landing in the top ten – Sean James Borja, 1st place and Katrina Monica Gaw, 5th place.

This year, 33 applied from whom the Board of Judges will select 10 third year scholars. Of the 10 third year scholars last year, nine retained their scholarships for their fourth year class. Thus, the Board of Judges will select one more to complete the 10 fourth year law scholars. The FLP Dissertation Writing Contest aims to augment existing literature on the Foundation’s core philosophy of liberty and prosperity under the rule of law. In partnership with Ayala Corporation, it awards the 1st place winner P300,000, 2nd place – P200,000, three 3rd places – P100,000 each, and 20 finalists, P20,000 each. The contest is open to all Filipino law students, including those taking masteral degrees. Deadline for submitting entries is April 30, 2020. This year’s 1st prize was awarded to Josiah David Quising of the Far Eastern University, 2nd prize to Diana Lou Boado of the Lyceum of the Philippines University. The three 3rd place winners were Charles de Belen of San Beda University, Beverly Lumbera of LUMSA University-Rome, and Clarissa Mae Sawali of FEU. The FLP was founded in 2011 to perpetuate the core judicial philosophy of retired Chief Justice Artemio V. Panganiban – that jurists and lawyers should safeguard liberty and nurture prosperity under the rule of law. The members of the FLP Board of Trustees are CJ Panganiban (Chairman), former Education Secretary Edilberto de Jesus, retired Supreme Court Justice Angelina Sandoval-Gutierrez, former BSP Governor Amando Tetangco, Jr., Evelyn Dumdum, Joel Emerson Gregorio, Prof. Elenita Panganiban and Maria Elena P.S. Yaptangco.

View PDF copy of press release here:
CJ Peralta, SJ Bernabe Head FLP Boards of Judges https://libpros.com/wp-content/uploads/2019/11/press-release-cj-peralta-sj-bernabe-2.pdf