10 FLP scholars pass 100 percent in bar exam; two place in Top Ten

P R E S S   R E L E A S E

All the 10 fourth-year law scholars of the Foundation for Liberty and Prosperity (FLP) and the Tan Yan Kee Foundation (TYKF) passed the last bar exam with two placing in the Top Ten, Kenneth Glenn Manuel of UST (6th place) and Jun Dexter Rojas of PUP (9th place).

For placing in the Top Ten, FLP and TYKF will reward them with P100,000 each. This is in addition to the yearly P200,000 scholarship grants they already received, divided into P100,000 for tuition, P20,000 for books and P80,000 in stipends at P8,000 per month for 10 months.

The eight other scholars who passed were Leo Francis F. Abot (ADMU), John Anthony F. Almerino (USC), Micah Celine S. Carpio (De La Salle U), Arvin Paolo D. Cortez (ADMU), Mikael Gabrielle E. Ilao (UCordilleras), Alimar Mohammad Malabad (San Beda -Manila), King Anthony Y. Perez (UCebu), and Ma. Vida Malaya M. Villarico (PUP). Two others who were FLP scholars in prior years, Tess Marie P. Tan (USC) and Julienne Therese B. Salvacion (San Beda – Manila) were also successful.

FLP’s first batch of scholars who took the bar exams in 2018 also registered a 100 percent passing with two placing in the Top Ten, Sean James Borja (ADMU), 1st place and Katrina Gaw (ADMU), 5th place.

The FLP Legal Scholarship Program is funded by a financial grant from the TYKF and is implemented with the assistance of the Philippine Association of Law Schools (PALS).

It is open to all third and fourth year students of law schools that obtained a percentage of passing above the overall average percentage of passing in bar exams based on the statistical data from the Office of the Bar Confidant of the Supreme Court.

To qualify, an applicant must (1) be incumbent 3rd or 4th year students in one of the eligible law schools, (2) be among the top 20 of the batch in their respective schools, (3) have a cumulative average not lower than 85% or 2.25 for the immediately preceding school year, (4) have no dropped subject and no grade lower than 75% or 3.0, and (5) have enrolled and completed the full load for each school year; and submit an essay on the philosophy of liberty and prosperity under the rule of law and how he/she will apply the philosophy in his/her legal career.

The FLP was founded in 2011 to perpetuate the core judicial philosophy of retired Chief Justice Artemio V. Panganiban — that jurists and lawyers should safeguard liberty and nurture prosperity under the rule of law. For more information, please visit http://www.libpros.com.

Its Board of Trustees is composed of retired CJ Panganiban (chairman), former Education Sec. Edilberto C. de Jesus, Asian Development Bank Consultant Joel Emerson J. Gregorio, Ms. Evelyn T. Dumdum, Atty. Tanya Karina A. Lat, Prof. Elenita C. Panganiban, retired Supreme Court Justice Angelina Sandoval-Gutierrez, former BSP Gov. Amando M. Tetangco, Jr., and Ms. Maria Elena P.S. Yaptangco (members).

The Tan Yan Kee Foundation is the corporate social responsibility arm of the Lucio Tan Group of Companies. It approaches corporate social responsibility from a holistic commitment framework targeting education; culture and sports; health and social welfare including environmental concerns; research; and manpower development.

Its Board of Trustees is composed of Dr. Lucio C. Tan (chairman), Harry C. Tan (vice chairman), Joaquin Bernas, Frank Chan, Shirley Chua, Emil Q. Javier, Artemio V. Panganiban, Marixi R. Prieto, Carmen Tan, Tan Eng Chan, Tan Hui Bin, Mariano Tanenglian, Amando M. Tetangco Jr. and Cesar E. A. Virata (members). For details, please visit http://www.tanyankee.org.

Download a PDF copy of the press release here.