FLP Trustee Tetangco Elected SMIC Chairman

FLP trustee, retired Bangko Sentral ng Pilipinas (BSP) Governor Amando M. Tetangco Jr., has achieved another remarkable milestone in his illustrious career by being elected as Chairman and reelected as Independent Director by the Board of Directors of the SM Investments Corporation (SMIC) during the SMIC Annual Shareholders Meeting. SMIC is the highly regarded holding firm of the Sy family.

Tetangco, 70, succeeds SM veteran and one of the Sy family’s most trusted individuals, Jose T. Sio, who recently retired from his post. Tetangco has dedicated over four decades to a distinguished career in central banking and is undoubtedly a deserving successor to this prestigious role.

During his tenure as the governor of the BSP and chairman of the Monetary Board for two consecutive terms from July 2005 to July 2017, Tetangco’s visionary leadership was instrumental in shaping the Philippine economy and ensuring financial stability. His immense contributions extended beyond the BSP, as he held prominent positions in various government bodies, including chairman of the Anti-Money Laundering Council, the Financial Stability Coordination Council, and the Philippine International Convention Center.

Tetangco joined the FLP Board of Trustees in 2019. Over the years, his role has been critical within the Foundation, serving as Chairman of the Esmel Fellowships Program Board of Judges as well as Chairman of the Task Force on the FLP Prosperity Fund.

Additionally, Tetangco sits on the board of Converge ICT Solutions, Pilipinas Shell Petroleum, Manila Hotel, Toyota Motor Philippines and CIBI Information. He is also a trustee of St. Luke’s Medical Center and Tan Yan Kee Foundation.

We extend our heartfelt congratulations to Gov. Amando M. Tetangco Jr. on this well-deserved appointment. His remarkable achievements, both nationally and internationally, serve as a testament to his outstanding capabilities, unwavering dedication, and exceptional leadership.