20 Law Students Receive Legal Scholarship for AY 2019-2020

P R E S S   R E L E A S E

Twenty 3rd year and 4th year law students in Metro Manila, Baguio, Cebu, and Butuan City will be awarded full scholarships for academic year 2019-2020 by the Foundation for Liberty and Prosperity (FLP) and the Tan Yan Kee Foundation (TYKF).

The 3rd year law students are: Patricia Anne Alarios (Ateneo de Manila), William dela Cruz (Father Saturnino Urios University), Ricka Abigael Dumelod (UST), Florida Fomaneg (UP), Rowell Nico Macalino (Ateneo de Manila), Joy Francine Mappang (UCordilleras), Geremae Mata (USC), Carlo Angelo Negado (USC), Laurence Obaob (USC) and George Mariano Soriano (UP).

For fourth year: Banoar Abratique (UCordilleras), Pamela Camille Barredo (FEU), Angelette Bulacan (FEU), Patricia Isabel Cornelio (FEU), Stephanie Mae Domingo (UCordilleras), Patrick Angelo Gutierrez (FEU), Mayumi Matsumura (Ateneo de Manila), Juralyn Lilian Obra (UCordilleras), Carmella Gaye Perez (USC), and Edrea Jean Ramirez (UST)

Each scholar will receive P200,000, divided into P100,000 maximum for tuition, P20,000 for books, and P80,000 for monthly stipends. The FLP scholars were selected based on their academic merit and their ability to propagate and espouse the FLP’s philosophy of liberty and prosperity under the rule of law.

The Legal Scholarship Program is sponsored by FLP with a financial grant from the TYKF and co-sponsored by the Philippine Association of Law Schools (PALS).

The scholars were finally chosen after passing a rigid panel interview by the Board of Judges headed by Chief Justice Diosdado M. Peralta, with PALS Chairperson Joan Sarausos-Largo, TYKF Executive Elizabeth Alba, Law Professor Ma. Tanya Karina Lat, and Atty. Joel J. Gregorio, as members.

The FLP Legal Scholarship Program is merit-based and aims to look for the best and brightest law students in the country. It is open to all third and fourth year students of law schools that have obtained a percentage of passing above the overall average percentage of passing in bar exams based on the statistical data from the Office of the Bar Confidant of the Supreme Court.

To qualify, the grantees must (1) be an incumbent 3rd or 4th year students in one of the eligible law schools, (2) be among the top 20 of the batch in their respective schools, (3) have a cumulative average not lower than 85% or 2.25 for the immediately preceding school year, (4) have no dropped subject and no grade lower than 75% or 3.0, and (5) have enrolled and completed the full load for each school year. They must also submit an essay on the FLP’s philosophy of liberty and prosperity under the rule of law and how they will apply the philosophy in their legal career.

The FLP was founded in 2011 to perpetuate the core judicial philosophy of retired Chief Justice Artemio V. Panganiban — that jurists and lawyers should safeguard liberty and nurture prosperity under the rule of law. For more information, please visit http://www.libpros.com

Its Board of Trustees is composed of CJ Panganiban (chairman), Former Education Secretary Edilberto de Jesus, retired Supreme Court Justice Angelina Sandoval-Gutierrez, former BSP Governor Amando M. Tetangco, Jr., Evelyn T. Dumdum, Asian Development Bank Consultant Joel Emerson J. Gregorio, Prof. Elenita C. Panganiban and Maria Elena P.S. Yaptangco (members).

The Tan Yan Kee Foundation is the corporate social responsibility arm of the Lucio Tan Group of Companies. It approaches corporate social responsibility from a holistic commitment framework targeting education; culture and sports; health and social welfare including environmental concerns; research; and manpower development.

Its Board of Trustees is composed of Dr. Lucio C. Tan (chairman), Harry C. Tan (vice chairman), Joaquin Bernas, SJ, Frank Chan, Shirley Chua, Emil Javier, Artemio V. Panganiban, Marixi R. Prieto, Carmen Tan, Tan Eng Chan, Tan Hui Bin, Mariano Tanenglian, Amando Tetangco and Cesar Virata. For details, please visit www.tanyankee.org.

Download a PDF copy of the press release here.